Hallowe’en Hullabaloo Pt. 8 – Chew

Mmm, this takes me back. During my formative years I had two chief loves (aside from alcohol and hallucinogens) – punk rock and horror stories. Around this time I was heavily into James Herbert, particularly his Rats trilogy. Something about the horrors of the dark suddenly swarming above ground and devouring us all (especially in Domain’s post-apocalyptic setting) triggered a sweet spot in my brain and kept me hungry for more.

Imagine my delight when I found out that not only had Jello Biafra, irascible frontman for Dead Kennedys, teamed up with jazz-punk legends No Means No for an album, they had also penned a song on this very subject. The album, The Sky Is Falling And I Want My Mommy, is worth buying on its own merits but the sinister atmospherics, slinky bassline and abrasive guitars on this track are the icing on the cake. Jello’s terrified whine tops everything off for a punk-horror masterpiece.

To my London and NYC amigos – enjoy your next subway ride…

 

Leave a Reply

