Changes afoot…

Okay, seems every few months I’m making the same “Sorry I haven’t written anything for fucking ages” post. It’s as irritating to read as it is to write. The fact is that I’m just to busy to dedicate much time to coming up with anything interesting to say here. Don’t get me wrong, my life is still full of plenty chuckles and thrills (for me at least) but it doesn’t leave me much time. I have a job with unsociable hours, a dedication to learning Chinese, occasional gigs, a rediscovered thirst for reading and, rather excitingly, an invitation to write some book reviews for my pal’s blog, Mountains Of Instead. As well as that, the primary reason for keeping this going was to keep folks back home abreast of what’s going on in this part of the world but as much as it pains me to say it, Facebook does a halfway decent job of that. It may be soundbites rather than information but it’s much easier for me.

With all that in mind I’ve reached a decision. This blog is more or less going to say cheerio. If anyone out there has bothered to hit the RSS button there will still be flurries of activity now and again. I’ll try to post the odd gem from my students, some photos and other odd bits and pieces like last Hallowe’en’s immensely enjoyable musicfest. Aside from that it’s going to get a lot quieter though so don’t be surprised if you don’t see anything new for a couple of months.

But… I have lately been getting involved in some scrapes online, mostly involving fighting the good fight against religion, conspiracy theorists and other anti-rationalists and anti-intellectuals of all stripes. This has spurred me to start writing more along these lines and to that end I’ve got another blog on the go. Actually it’s one I started to voice gripes about life here in Taiwan but I’ve decided to expand it to include more varied content. Only one post so far (and that was a good few months back) but I want to try to add at least one per week. Due to the insular nature of this town I’m trying to keep it at least slightly anonymous so I’m not going to post the address here, but if you want to know where it is just send me a message 🙂

So long, and thanks for all the fish.

One response to “Changes afoot…

  1. I’d be interested please. I assume my email address is visible in your mail copy.

Leave a Reply

