Advertising, Thai-style

Okay, we’re going to play a little guessing game today, one I’ve been meaning to inflict upon people for a while but never got round to it. I spent my birthday this year in Bangkok with Em and while waiting for a Skytrain (no, it’s not a flying train, just a monorail unfortunately) we chanced upon this triptych of adverts. Well, it’s not a triptych so much as a trio, I just like to say triptych. Deal with it.

Anyhoo, the ads are a tad suspect to say the least. I’ll stick them up one by one with my own little commentary and see if you can guess the product…

“An entire family dead, just like that! The poor bastards never knew what hit them. Time to have my wicked way with what’s left of them…”

A fair enough synopsis? I mean here we have an mum, dad and daughter lying prostrate on the floor, either sleeping, unconscious or dead. Standing over them is some grinning stranger looking like he’s just won the lottery. Weird? Just wait for the next one…

“I like the ones who take care of themselves. She’ll never know what hit her and when she wakes up walking funny she’ll just think she overdid it at the gym. Bwahahahaha!”

I mean what else are we supposed to think? Here’s the same evil pervert with his latest conquest, handily arranged over an exercise ball. The hand gesture is somewhat ambiguous – is it the old downward tug on the truck horn, signifying his victory over womankind? Or is the fist engaged in an upward motion, indicating that it’s soon going to be up someone?

I’ll leave that to you to decide. It’s time for the last installment. Prepare yourselves…

“Shhh…”

At this point words fail me. The look in the eyes. The finger on the lips. The child (Dead? Drugged?) bent over the sofa, stuffed rabbit at her feet. What the fuck is wrong with this country?

So who is responsible for this travesty, this assault on my delicate sensibilities? Can it be that the makers of Rohypnol have finally realised that it’s only good for one thing and decided to attempt to legitimise it? Is it some kind of hitman/rapist for hire? Maybe some bizarre government warning – be good or creepy suit guy will violate you?

None of the above.

Look above the victims in each picture. See a rectangular box on the wall? That’s an air-conditioning unit. Yup, these are adverts for air-con. Possibly the most disturbing adverts in all history. Ten points if you got it right.

Aah, Thailand. You never cease to amaze me…

One response to “Advertising, Thai-style

  1. I knew it was for air-con. It’s always for air-con when there are sleeping people in the picture. I have been here long enough to know this. Though, I’m not sure if that’s a good thing…

Leave a Reply

