Tired

Almost four weeks in and the strain is starting to tell. Apparently it’s pretty common after this length of time, people start to feel the homesickness, start getting irritated by aspects of life in their new home, the job becomes a grind, the initial novelty of the new people and places starts to wear off. I was told all this before so knew it might be coming but it’s still pretty grim when it happenss.

The main thing is loneliness I guess. There are plenty of great people over here, really friendly and welcoming, totally chilled out and relaxed. There are no close friendships though, not yet, and that’s what I miss.

There’s also the lack of a closer relationship, which I think I wrote about before. I used to be a lot better on my own but I guess that’s changed over the past few years and I could really use someone to talk to, someone to lean on, someone who can help pick me up when I have a mood crash. Unfortunately the events of the past year or so have left my confidence at an all-time low as far as that kind of thing goes, might be a while till I can get back in the saddle, so to speak.

All this sort of thing is just leaving me totally drained at the moment. It doesn’t help that I can’t get out of my ‘morning person’ mode, meaning that I’m wide awake five hours before I have to be at work and exhausted by the time everyone wants to head out at night. I have to do my prep work duriong those early hours seeing as it’s when my brain is most awake so I’m not really getting much chance to hit the gym, another knock to my energy levels.

It’s all about adjustment though, that’s what I have to keep telling myself. It’s going to take time to settle down and I knew that from the start, there’s no way I’m going to let myself get down enough to bug out and go home.

In the meantime there are always distractions like last weekend’s boat-based, animal-themed fancy dress party. Can’t really be too down when you’re sailing up a river, knocking back whisky, dressed as an exceptionally gay unicorn and accompanied by, amongst others, Minnie Mouse, two Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Stamford, the Chelsea lion mascot. Really, how bad can it be…?

(Special prize for Saad who missed the ‘animal’ part and came as a terrorist. Genius mistake)

Leave a Reply

