What to buy?

Since my windfall yesterday I’ve been trying to decide what to splash the cash on. My initial thought was that the money more or less exactly matched the remaining balance on my credit card and that I really should do the sensible thing. Fuck that though, I’ve been paying off debts for the past 8 months and I’ve had enough – it’s time for fun. At the moment I’ve come up with three potential plans:

  1. Visit my pal Bev in San Jose. Been meaning to head over there for a while now but never seem to get round to it.
  2. Wait till another pal, Marty, is in either Thailand or Melbourne later this year. I’d love to go to Thailand given the new fascination with Muay Thai but I spent about 9 months in Melbourne a decade ago and fell in love with the place so the urge to return is strong.
  3. The main contender at the moment – fly to St Petersburg, stay there for a few days, get the sleeper train to Moscow, spend a few days there, fly back home. Air France are doing cheap-ass flights (returns inc. taxes for under £175) so it’d be almost childish not to.

shoeWell whatever I decide I’ll have to wait and talk to my boss about how holidays work now that I’m on a permanent contract, that may throw a spanner in the works. In the meantime I may just treat myself to some useless tat instead, and what better way to start than with a pair of slip-on sneakers with custom retro-gamer artwork? Drool, drool, want, want. Just need to figure out what design to get…

PS – I’m becoming addicted to the whole selling-all-my-worldly-possessions thang so if you know anyone who want to buy a wood-finish Fender Mustang reissue or an Ashdown 120W bass combo for not much money just give me a shout 🙂

Leave a Reply

