Trauma Queen

kalAs much as I enjoy nattering away on this blog, clogging the net with yet more worthless tripe, I know in my heart of hearts it’ll never be as good as it could be. There’s a reason for that. I’m not Kal.

Kal is the online pseudonym of a good friend of my ex-wife’s (in fact to say  ‘friend’ is to criminally understate the role he plays in her life) who has, for some time now, been documenting his life, mostly professional but also personal, at his blog, Trauma Queen. The past few years of his life have been dedicated (again a horrendous understatement) to becoming a paramedic, a goal he recently and deservedly achieved, so you can imagine the arsenal of blogworthy material he has it his disposal. And man, does he ever know how to deploy it – I won’t even attempt to do his writing justice, just go and read it.

Now his writing is reason enough for me to send my (very) few readers there but right now I have a higher motive. Kal has been given a chance to do something pretty amazing and which makes me incredibly jealous – working as a general emergency superhero in support of the Desert Challenge, an off-road race from Abu Dhabi to Dubai. It’s a chance to experience a totally different working environment, add some new skills to his repertoire, get something fucking cool on his CV and also have a hell of a good time.

The only thing is it’s a volunteer post so he needs cash to get there, which is where we come in. I’ve already chucked him a few quid (see the post prior to this one…) and would dearly love it if anyone else would help him out because he’s one of the soundest people on this planet and deserves this break. So go on, make Kal and me happy bunnies…

(Side note – the only reason I never linked to Trauma Queen before was because i didn’t want my ex to find this blog. However I met her for a coffee yesterday and she already found it because I stupidly linked to our old joint blog last week so obviously she recieved an email alert about it. I R DUMB. So the jig’s up, I just have to make sure I’m not too mean to her in any posts…)

Leave a Reply

